

MSSC Board Meeting Minutes Wednesday, February 23, 2022 5:00 – 6:30 pm Pub 365 – Tuscany Suites & Casino

- Welcome and Roll Call: In attendance: Scott Reinert, Orestes Morfin, Eric Dole, Charlie Ester, Julie Minton, Warren Teitz, Karl Longley, Malynda Cappelle, Kyle Frazier, Wally Wilson, Mark Norton, Jeff Biggs, Lanaya Voelz Alexander, Robert Fowlie.
- II. Update Board Members: Board members voted in the following members:
 - Lanaya Voelz Alexander, Assistant General Manager, Planning, Engineering, and Construction Eastern Municipal Water District
 - Glenn Farrel, Executive Director, CalDesal
 - Mike Hightower, Program Director, New Mexico Produced Water Research Consortium New Mexico State University
 - Ernie Avila, Vice President, Division 3 Contra Costa Water District
 - Warren Teitz, President, Board of Directors Southern California Salinity Coalition
 - Affiliate Member: Malynda Cappelle, Facility Manager Brackish Groundwater National Desalination Research Facility, Bureau of Reclamation
 - Orestes Morfin, Planning Analyst, Central Arizona Project Vice President, MSSC
- III. Board discussed: **Brad Berles**, General Manager, Palo Verde Water Resources, Arizona Public Service (APS) as possible 2023 keynote speaker

4790 Caughlin Pkwy #267 Reno, NV 89519

Arizona Public Service, Brown and Caldwell, CalDesal, California Water Institute, California State University Fresno, Carollo Engineers, Inc., Central Arizona Project, CDM Smith, Contra Costa Water District, Central Arizona Project, Eastern Municipal Water District, El Paso Water, Garver, Metropolitan Domestic Water Improvement District, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California, New Mexico Desalination Association, New Mexico State University, Renner Consulting, Salt River Project, San Diego Water Authority, Santa Ana Watershed Project Authority, Scottsdale Water, Southern California Salinity Coalition, Southern Nevada Water Authority, Texas Desalination Association, Texas State University, Texas Water Development Board, The Water Research Foundation, The University of Texas at El Paso, Tucson Water, University of New Mexico, Yucaipa Valley Water District, Affiliate Member: Bureau of Reclamation



- IV. Board members discussed next Member Meeting: May 12-13, 2022 Carlsbad Desal
- V. Board members discussed 2022 Salt of the Earth Winners
 Patrick Dent, Assistant General Manager, Water Policy,
 Central Arizona Project and Mike Hightower, Program
 Director, New Mexico Produced Water Research Consortium
 New Mexico State University

and

Student Scholarship Winner – Pei Xu Professor, **Abdiel Lugo Montes**, New Mexico State University

- VI. Board members discussed International Salinity Summit
- VII. Board members discussed 2022 Annual Summit

Meeting adjourned

Meeting minutes by: Christine Kimberling

Executive Administrator

MSSC

4790 Caughlin Pkwy #267 Reno, NV 89519

Arizona Public Service, Brown and Caldwell, CalDesal, California Water Institute, California State University Fresno, Carollo Engineers, Inc., Central Arizona Project, CDM Smith, Contra Costa Water District, Central Arizona Project, Eastern Municipal Water District, El Paso Water, Garver, Metropolitan Domestic Water Improvement District, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California, New Mexico Desalination Association, New Mexico State University, Renner Consulting, Salt River Project, San Diego Water Authority, Santa Ana Watershed Project Authority, Scottsdale Water, Southern California Salinity Coalition, Southern Nevada Water Authority, Texas Desalination Association, Texas State University, Texas Water Development Board, The Water Research Foundation, The University of Texas at El Paso, Tucson Water, University of New Mexico, Yucaipa Valley Water District, Affiliate Member: Bureau of Reclamation